HDI & The DR

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
IMG_1660.jpeg

Basically, the DR has a higher Human Development Index (HDI) than most Latin American countries except:

Puerto Rico​
Chile​
Argentina​
Uruguay​
Panama​
Costa Rica​
Mexico​

The DR’s HDI also grew more than everywhere’s except:

Mexico​
Cuba​
Ecuador​
Uruguay​

In the Greater Antilles the DR is ahead of all except Puerto Rico, but the gap closed the most with Puerto Rico.

The DR is ahead of all South American countries except Chile, Argentina and Ecuador.

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
Not quite sure how they measure that, The DR is better in almost every way than Cuba. Cuban education might be slightly higher; that's about it.

Reactions: CristoRey

bob saunders

Platinum
Jan 1, 2002
dr1.com
And when did Puerto Rico declare independence and become a country?

Respectfully,
Playacaribe2
I am not sure the relevance of your question, I never mention PR. Puerto Rico benefits from itS relationship with the USA. Puerto Ricans ARE considered U.S citizens.

Jan 9, 2004
I am not sure the relevance of your question, I never mention PR. Puerto Rico benefits from itS relationship with the USA. Puerto Ricans ARE considered U.S citizens.

Yes they are still US citizens and no you did not mention PR. Perhaps I should have replied to the OP for clarity purposes.

Respectfully,
Playacaribe2

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
The data comes from the UN. That PR is a US territory doesn’t mean it isn’t part of Latin America. It’s like Ceuta being in Africa, that it’s a part of Spain doesn’t negates that.

Jan 9, 2004
The data comes from the UN. That PR is a US territory doesn’t mean it isn’t part of Latin America. It’s like Ceuta being in Africa, that it’s a part of Spain doesn’t negates that.
Of course it is part of Latin America................but it is NOT a country.........no matter what the UN or anyone else says.

Respectfully,
Playacaribe2

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003