Principal Banks of Haiti

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I have known of SogeBank for many years and have seen pictures of their headquarters in Port-au-Prince (I think it’s a nice commercial highrise, was it designed by a Haitian architect?)

What other Haitian banks would you say are part of the main ones or at least the largest in Haiti?

I have seen data concerning the total assets of Sogebank at near US$1.1 billion but revenues around US$18 million. It appears this is outdated data, so actual figures could be higher at the moment. It’s hard to find quality data about this (well, anything that has to do with Haiti, I don’t understand this hermitism.) In either case, this makes it the largest bank in Haiti, no?

This is the website of Sogebank (https://www.sogebank.com/). It’s in French or Haitian Kreyol (probably the first one), both of which I don’t understand. It appears there is no way to convert it to English or Spanish right on the website, so I’m just clicking here and there and trying to make out what it says. Lol. I have to say that I’m impressed at the bottom it says “© 2024 Groupe Sogebank” which says to me this is an updated website and perhaps they put attention to detail. It’s common to find Dominican website with an outdated year.

Sogebank is a private bank owned by mostly or entirely Haitian investors? What about the other banks?

It seems a Dominican company either designed or did sone work in one of their branches. (https://www.lath.do/sogebank/?lang=en)

I’m assuming this is their headquarters in Port-au-Prince. I think they did a change to its facade, the original images that I saw of this buildings many years ago was not white/cream looking like this one, but it looks like the same building.
IMG_0524.jpeg