Traffic Jam in Santo Domingo

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003

Not that many decades ago, Santo Domingo didn't used to have a traffic jam problem. Look at it now. Reminds me when people say the economic growth isn't "seen," because apparently Santo Domingo is like Havana which despite all these decades and having a population in the millions, traffic jams are still unknown. That's what happen when an economic growth isn't seen. No money to get more cars.

On the other hand, San Juan in Puerto Rico does gets traffic jams too.

Reactions: JD Jones

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
That's the reason why I say you have to know your way around the city - to know what roads to avoid at what time.

If you don't, here's hoping you have a comfortable car.
It's going to get worst. One of the solutions is to build more lines for the Metro, but today line 3 was suppose to be built already. Take your time looking for it, you might miss it. 🫣

When the traffic jams started to appear, all you had to do was go into the side streets and you could get around. Today, many people have "discovered" the routes through many side streets. Guess what that means?

With a nice size Metro system, the entire SD Metro area could be crossed in minutes during the rush hours and "special" days when the streets become a virtual gridlock.

chicagoan14

Apr 2, 2019
It's going to get worst. One of the solutions is to build more lines for the Metro, but today line 3 was suppose to be built already. Take your tine looking for it, you might miss it. 🫣

When the traffic jams started to appear, all you had to do was go into the side streets and you could get around. Today, many people have "discovered" the routes through many side streets. Guess what that means?
As long as people look at public transportation as a low-income thing it won't be as effective as it should.

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
Next: Odd and even plate number days.

Big