Drone Video: Higuey

reilleyp

Dec 12, 2006
Thanks for sharing. Impressive cathedral! I will have to visit the town someday.

Lucifer

Silver
Jun 26, 2012
No, amigo. Although I was watching to see if my neighborhood would come into view.
I have to say that Higüey has grown at a very fast rate: What was once forest is not blanketed with all manner of construction.
Check before posting, you nincompoop: I think you meant to write 'now', pariguayasazo.

NALs

Economist by Profession
Jan 20, 2003
I have only been to Higüey once and that was a long time ago (2006 to be exact) and only because you had to pass through Higüey to get to Punta Cana. Technically it was 2 time, one heading to Punta Cana and it was literally just passing through and then a few days later heading back to SD. That time we stopped at the Basilica since you’re already passing right in front of it, why not. Higüey the town wasn’t impressive (at least the parts we passed through), except for the Basílica which is impressive due to its size. The fact I never return to Higüey is a testament I didn’t like the town (nothing look worst than psssing through San Pedro de Macorís which I also did on that trip since not even the csble stayed bridge was finished and the highway with a median ended just before town. Again, simply going by what was seen passing through.)

It seems Higüey has change since then, not entirely but some of the differences are noticeable.

JD Jones

Moderator:North Coast,Santo Domingo,SW Coast,Covid
Jan 7, 2016
Holy cow! I see Higuey is growing like mad too.

Lucifer

Silver
Jun 26, 2012
Holy cow! I see Higuey is growing like mad too.
And there's much more growth, specifically to the area el El Cerro and beyond.

I only caught a glimpse of the central park and the San Dionisio Church, the traditional center of Higüey.

Lucifer

Silver
Jun 26, 2012